Gombe State House of Assembly on Tuesday removed the Speaker, Abubakar Sadiq Ibrahim and replaced him with Abubakar Mohammed.

Similarly, the Majority Leader, Samuel Marcus, was removed and replaced with Terminal Gayle, while Said Mohammed was elected as the new Deputy Chief Whip to replace the former Chief Whip, Yahaya Kaka.

The Whip of the House, Musa Buba, who briefed reporters on behalf of the House, said the removal of the former Speaker was in exercise of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

According to him, 16 members of the House out of the 24 passed a vote of no confidence against the former Speaker.